Econstudentlog

A brief update

i. I’ll not be at home for the week to come. I assume I’ll have internet and that I’ll have time for ‘blogging-worthy activities’ as well, so it may not impact my blogging much if at all – but I figured I should mention this.

ii. I’ve read the first half (~550 pages) of A Feast for Crows. Pretty much since the first time Martin felt compelled to involve the Iron Islands and the people who live there I’ve wanted them to be treated the same way as the dothraki; forget about them, kick them out of the story and move on to people I actually want to read about. Instead the Greyjoys and the Iron Island people get a lot more attention in this book than they’ve ever gotten before, which I find profoundly annoying because I don’t want to read about them. They’re the reason this book is not getting a five star rating on goodsreads from me, no matter what happens in the second half of the book. The development in the South is interesting though, and most of the book is well worth reading.

July 2, 2013 - Posted by | blogging, books

3 Comments »

  1. Without any spoilers, can you explain what annoys you about the Iron Islands and the people living there?

    In addition, what do you dislike about the Dothrakis? I found Khal Drogo increasingly likeable as the story progressed.

    Comment by Miao | July 3, 2013 | Reply

    • “Without any spoilers, can you explain what annoys you about the Iron Islands and the people living there?” – turned out I couldn’t…🙂 (Thanks for an enjoyable afternoon and evening.)

      Comment by US | July 4, 2013 | Reply

      • Thanks for the visit! Sorry you didn’t stay longer.🙂

        Comment by Miao | July 4, 2013


Leave a Reply

