Econstudentlog

Cosmology: Recent Results and Future Prospects

This is another old lecture from my bookmarks. I’m reasonably certain the main reason why I did not blog this earlier is that it’s a rather general and not very detailed overview lecture, so it doesn’t actually contain a lot of new stuff. Hubble’s work, the discovery of the cosmic microwave background, properties of the early universe and how it evolved, discussion of the cosmological constant, dark matter and dark energy, some recent observational results – most of the stuff he talks about should be familiar territory to people interested in the field. Before I watched the lecture I had expected it to include a lot more ‘recent results’ and ‘future prospects’ than were actually included; a big part of the lecture is just an overview of what we’ve learned since the 1930es.

June 7, 2017 Posted by | Astronomy, Lectures, Physics | Leave a comment