Econstudentlog

The Mathematical Challenge of Large Networks

This is another one of the aforementioned lectures I watched a while ago, but had never got around to blogging:

If I had to watch this one again, I’d probably skip most of the second half; it contains highly technical coverage of topics in graph theory, and it was very difficult for me to follow (but I did watch it to the end, just out of curiosity).

The lecturer has put up a ~500 page publication on these and related topics, which is available here, so if you want to know more that’s an obvious place to go have a look. A few other relevant links to stuff mentioned/covered in the lecture:
Szemerédi regularity lemma.
Graphon.
Turán’s theorem.
Quantum graph.

May 19, 2017 Posted by | Computer science, Lectures, Mathematics, Statistics | Leave a comment