Econstudentlog

Hydrodynamical Simulations of Galaxy Formation: Progress, Pitfalls, and Promises

“This calculation was relatively expensive, about 19 million CPU hours were spent on it.”

….

Posts including only one lecture is a recent innovation here on the blog as I have in the past bundled lectures so that a lecture post would include at least 2 or 3 lectures, but I am starting to come around to the idea that these new types of posts are a good idea. I have been going over some old lectures I’ve watched in the past recently, and it turns out that there are quite a few lectures I never got around to blogging; I have mentioned before how the 3 lectures per post format was likely suboptimal, in the sense that they tended to lead to lectures never being covered e.g. because of the long time lag between watching a lecture and blogging it (in the case of book blogging I tend to be much more likely to spend my time covering books I read recently, rather than books I read a while ago, and the same dynamic goes for lectures), and I think this impression is now confirmed.

As some of the lectures I’ll be covering in posts like these in the future are lectures I watched a long time ago my coverage will probably be limited to the actual lectures and the comments I wrote down when I first watched the lecture in question. I don’t want to add a few big lecture posts to just get rid of the backlog, mostly because this blog is obviously not nearly as active as it used to be, and adding single-lecture posts dropwise is an easy (…low-effort) and convenient way for me to keep the blog at least somewhat active. What I wrote down in my comments about the lecture above when I watched it, aside from the quote above, is that considering the very high-level physics included it was sort of surprising to me that the lecture was not so technical as to not be worth watching – but it wasn’t. You’ll certainly not understand all of it, but it’s interesting stuff.

May 18, 2017 - Posted by | Astronomy, Lectures, Physics

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

