Econstudentlog

Terry Pratchett has died

Reading this short note made me sad, even if I’ve never met the guy. Picking just one author as my ‘favourite author’ would be an unfair and impossible undertaking, but I’m pretty sure I would often pick Pratchett if asked to do so anyway. His Discworld books are funny, thought-provoking, wonderful, and unique, and fortunately they are still around and will remain so for a long time to come. If you have not already read him, now might be a good time to give his books a shot. A few samples here, here, and here.

I’ve shared this lecture of his before here on the blog, but it may be worth doing it again today, given the circumstances.

March 13, 2015 - Posted by | Terry Pratchett

3 Comments »

  1. I remember picking up Interesting Times and Lords and Ladies at a flea market in Goa around 1996. I spend the next 8 months reading most of the Discworld-series in random order, because it was pretty damn random, which Discworld-novels you could get a hold of in India back then. I would send all of them back home in specially parcels wrapped by tailors, because I didn’t know if I could get these books in Denmark, so there was no way I could pass them on to a fellow traveller, or leave them behind at a hotel. I still have my old travel-worn copies on my book-shelf.

    Great times.

    Comment by William Jansen | March 13, 2015 | Reply

    • That’s a wonderful account of your experiences back then – thanks for sharing. If I’d been in your situation I’m sure I’d behaved in a similar manner – I could readily imagine myself in a similar situation back then (being slightly older than I was at the time, though…) looking for those books and sending them back to Denmark, worrying that I might not be able to find the books again if I didn’t. The closest thing I ever did to doing what you did was to ‘raid’ a few Danish bookstores, purchasing all English-language Discworld titles they had on stock that I didn’t already own, but that’s not quite the same thing…

      This mega-thread on r/books incidentally has a lot of discussion, quotes, anecdotes etc.

      Comment by US | March 13, 2015 | Reply

  2. I don’t like posting short posts without much content, so I thought I should add a note here instead: I’ll be away from home this weekend visiting friends and family, and so I’ll not be able to post anything here until Sunday evening at the earliest. I was planning on posting a fourth and final post about Agustí’s book before leaving, but I realized a short while ago that I won’t be able to finish that post in time.

    Next week I’ll on an unrelated note go spend some days at my parents’ place, which will hopefully give me much needed peace and quiet so that I’ll once again have the ability to do both work and the sort of ‘play’ I have usually engaged in here on the blog. I hope and expect to blog more (and more seriously) next week.

    Comment by US | March 14, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

