Econstudentlog

Issues

I’m spending time at my parents’ place at the moment, and that’s actually the only reason why I’m able to write this blog post; the old laptop I’ve been using finally decided to break down earlier this evening. You should expect limited blogging in the week to come – I’m completely cut off at the moment, far away from stuff like computer stores.

I recently realized that the computer- and internet issues have really made blogging a chore, in a way – I’m reading books I can’t easily blog either because my notes keep getting lost or because I’ve lately deliberately been reading books offline (/AFK) to get around these problems. I used to be able to just write a post when I felt like it, but that’s not been the case for the last month; I’ve felt like I had to blog when I had internet, and if I wanted to write when I did not have internet the best I could do was to make a draft using e.g. Word; and I never liked that option. To make it worse, the updating frequency the blog used to have (I don’t know what’ll happen in the weeks to come) was actually quite high, considering the amount of work that’s put into each post; it’s really been far from trivial to just ‘put together a blogpost while internet is up’. Notes and highlights intended among other things to facilitate blogging coverage later on have as mentioned been lost due to hardware issues, and this is actually a much bigger deal than you might think; it’s not that losing the notes put me completely back to square one, but for practical purposes losing my notes have meant that in order for me to provide the same type of coverage I’ve usually provided I’ve had to basically read some of these books twice. Not really, but close enough for it to feel that way. I’ve spent roughly 12 hours or so on Chamberlain’s Symptoms and Signs in Clinical Medicine over the last few days, and now I can basically start over if I want to blog it the way I’d intended to do it – so instead of a post about that book now, you get this post instead (and I may never blog the book in the amount of detail I’d intended to and would have, if not for these issues). I’m not happy about that, but that’s the way it is. Given that I’ve been thinking about stopping blogging completely lately because it just feels like too much work – it does, now, compared to before – I’ll care a lot less about the updating frequency in the time to come than I’ve done in the past. Blogging should be enjoyable, and it used to be very enjoyable, but these issues have been killing my desire to write here.

October 10, 2014 - Posted by | meta, personal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

