Econstudentlog

Books – 2013

Below is a list of the 71 books I read to completion last year. Here’s a goodreads overview with covers and ratings.

As pointed out in the preliminary post on the topic I posted in October, there’s a small overlap with last year’s reading in that I started a few of the books on the list below last year. However in terms of whole-year-book-equivalents I think it sort of evens out, as I did not get to finish all the books I started this year either. In terms of time expenditure there’s no doubt that I ‘gained’ less from last year’s reading than I ‘lost’ from unfinished books this year which will spill over to next year’s list; I’m certain I put in more than 50 hours in McPhee et al. alone (see also this, this, and this), and I get no ‘credit’ for that on the list below (or, for that matter, anywhere else…) as I didn’t finish the book in 2013. Anyway.

Each link below links to a post I’ve written about the book, except in the case of books I finished after I stopped blogging in December – ‘fortunately’ there are few such books as I did not read much (..stuff I should not be reading) in December compared to what I normally do. A brief count gave me 30 fiction books and 41 non-fiction books – I’ve felt like I’ve been reading way too much fiction this year, but actually it’s not as bad as I’d thought. Incidentally fiction books usually don’t get more than one post, but I have written more than one (usually much longer) post about many non-fiction books; on a related note I should make clear that I tend not to write very much about fiction books I read, whereas my coverage of non-fiction books generally is much more detailed. If a second link to another post about a specific (non-fiction) book which you’re interested in is not present in the post to which I link below, you may try to look for additional posts about the book here on the blog by using the search bar and search for the title of the book. I posted 216 posts last year, and considering that I’ve posted multiple posts about quite a few books and have not failed to cover even mediocre- or bad books (viz, I have not failed to cover those I’ve actually finished…), I think it’s quite likely that something like half of my posts last year were book-related; so do have a look around if you’re looking for stuff to read. You’re welcome to ask questions about the books and so on in the comments, but if I read the book in May you should not expect me to necessarily remember a great deal about what was in it or what I thought about it. I write book posts in part so that I don’t have to walk around remembering all that stuff..

I. Unseen Academicals.

II. Surely you’re joking Mr. Feynman!

III. Adult development and aging: Biopsychosocial Perspectives, 4th edition.

IV. Close Relationships.

V. The Great Sea – A Human History of the Mediterranean.

VI. Making Choices in Health: WHO Guide to Cost-Effectiveness Analysis.

VII. Causal Models – How People Think about the World and Its Alternatives.

VIII. Thud!

IX. The Cardiovascular System.

X. A practical manual of diabetic foot care

XI. A summary of scientific method.

XII. Advances in Personality Science.

XIII. A Christmas Carol.

XIV. Patient Compliance – Sweetening the pill.

XV. Being Logical – A guide to good thinking.

XVI. Completely Unexpected Tales…

XVII. Ten days in a mad-house.

XVIII. The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

XIX. A Game of Thrones.

XX. Chromosomal abnormalities.

XXI. Carpe Jugulum.

XXII. Daily Negations.

XXIII. A Clash of Kings.

XXIV. European Societies in the Bronze Age.

XXV. A Storm of Swords.

XXVI. Flatland.

XXVII. A Feast for Crows.

XXVIII. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead.

XXIX. Men at arms.

XXX. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd.

XXXI. The Devotion of Suspect X.

XXXII. Influence: The psychology of persuasion.

XXXIII. The Mysterious Affair at Styles.

XXXIV. The Murder on the Links.

XXXV. Lord Edgware Dies.

XXXVI. Calculated Risks: Understanding the Toxicity of Chemicals in our Environment.

XXXVII. Three Act Tragedy.

XXXVIII. Gender, Physical Activity, and Aging.

XXXIX. The ABC murders.

XL. The Ancestor’s Tale.

XLI. The Knowledgeable Patient: Communication and Participation in Health (A Cochrane Handbook).

XLII. Mechanism and Causality in Biology and Economics.

XLIII. A Dance With Dragons.

XLIV. Handbook of critical care.

XLV. Evil Under the Sun.

XLVI. One, Two, Buckle My Shoe.

XLVII. The Mating Mind: How Sexual Choice Shaped the Evolution of Human Nature.

XLVIII. The (Honest) Truth about Dishonesty.

XLIX. The Incas and their Ancestors: The Archaeology of Peru.

L. The Double Helix.

LI. Dumb Witness.

LII. Dinosaurs past and present.

LIII. Five Little Pigs.

LIV. Adipose Tissue and Cancer.

LV. Why sex matters.

LVI. Clinical epidemiology: The Essentials.

LVII. Murder on the Orient Express.

LVIII. At Home: A short history of private life.

LIX. Life of Pi.

LX. The Roman Invasion of Britain.

LXI. The Causes and Behavioral Consequences of Disasters: Models informed by the global experience 1950-2005.

LXII. The Ethics of Screening in Health Care and Medicine.

LXIII. A Geography of Russia and Its Neighbors.

LXIV. Suicide risk management: A manual for health professionals.

LXV. The Last Full Measure: How Soldiers Die in Battle.

LXVI. Antibiotic Policies: Controlling Hospital Acquired Infection.

LXVII. The Red Queen.

LXVIII. Type 1 Diabetes: Etiology and Treatment (the link is to my second post about the book, which as it turned out also became my last post about the book – due to my blogging pause I never got around to writing a final post).

LXIX. A Brief History of Life in the Middle Ages (goodreads link – I never blogged this book).

LXX. The Diversity of Life (-ll-).

LXXI. Robinson Crusoe (-ll-).

January 1, 2014 - Posted by | books

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

