Econstudentlog

Books I’ve read this year (so far)

I decided to do a tally.

There’s a small overlap with last year’s reading because I started #3 and #5 last year but only finished them this year. On the other hand I’ve only included books I’ve finished, which means that more than a few books are left out of the equation; including some books where I’ve actually read a substantial number of pages. I was wondering whether to include novellas and plays – I decided to include them here, but you can mentally remove Dickens, Abbott and Stoppard from the list if you prefer to. I like to think it sort of evens out in the end in terms of ‘proper book equivalents’; there are only a few of them on the list, and on the other hand all the Martin books I read and added to the list were single volume publications, even though some of these books have been “divided into two, three, or even four volumes“. There are also quite a few textbooks on this list which should help ‘even things out’. Either way I think the goal of 50 books has been reached at this point. It seems that I’ve read a few more non-fiction books than fiction books overall, but it’s almost 50/50 – naturally I spend a lot more time reading non-fiction than fiction. In terms of the language breakdown, there are 57 books in English and one book in Danish – I wasn’t really aware that it was that bad, but it seems I’ve pretty much stopped reading Danish books at this point.

The list below includes one link/book to a post I’ve written here on the blog about the specific book in question. In cases where I’ve written multiple posts about the book I’ve only linked to one of the posts (most often the last one) – linking takes time, making a list like this one takes time, and the blog does have a search button for a reason.

Books I’ve read:

I. Unseen Academicals.

II. Surely you’re joking Mr. Feynman!

III. Adult development and aging: Biopsychosocial Perspectives, 4th edition.

IV. Close Relationships.

V. The Great Sea – A Human History of the Mediterranean.

VI. Making Choices in Health: WHO Guide to Cost-Effectiveness Analysis.

VII. Causal Models – How People Think about the World and Its Alternatives.

VIII. Thud!

IX. The Cardiovascular System.

X. A practical manual of diabetic foot care

XI. A summary of scientific method.

XII. Advances in Personality Science.

XIII. A Christmas Carol.

XIV. Patient Compliance – Sweetening the pill.

XV. Being Logical – A guide to good thinking.

XVI. Completely Unexpected Tales…

XVII. Ten days in a mad-house.

XVIII. The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

XIX. A Game of Thrones.

XX. Chromosomal abnormalities.

XXI. Carpe Jugulum.

XXII. Daily Negations.

XXIII. A Clash of Kings.

XXIV. European Societies in the Bronze Age.

XXV. A Storm of Swords.

XXVI. Flatland.

XXVII. A Feast for Crows.

XXVIII. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead.

XXIX. Men at arms.

XXX. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd.

XXXI. The Devotion of Suspect X.

XXXII. Influence: The psychology of persuasion.

XXXIII. The Mysterious Affair at Styles.

XXXIV. The Murder on the Links.

XXXV. Lord Edgware Dies.

XXXVI. Calculated Risks: Understanding the Toxicity of Chemicals in our Environment.

XXXVII. Three Act Tragedy.

XXXVIII. Gender, Physical Activity, and Aging.

XXXIX. The ABC murders.

XL. The Ancestor’s Tale.

XLI. The Knowledgeable Patient: Communication and Participation in Health (A Cochrane Handbook).

XLII. Mechanism and Causality in Biology and Economics.

XLIII. A Dance With Dragons.

XLIV. Handbook of critical care.

XLV. Evil Under the Sun.

XLVI. One, Two, Buckle My Shoe.

XLVII. The Mating Mind: How Sexual Choice Shaped the Evolution of Human Nature.

XLVIII. The (Honest) Truth about Dishonesty.

XLIX. The Incas and their Ancestors: The Archaeology of Peru.

L. The Double Helix.

LI. Dumb Witness.

LII. Dinosaurs past and present.

LIII. Five Little Pigs.

LIV. Adipose Tissue and Cancer.

LV. Why sex matters.

LVI. Clinical epidemiology: The Essentials.

LVII. Murder on the Orient Express.

LVIII. At Home: A short history of private life.

October 21, 2013 - Posted by | books, personal

2 Comments »

  1. Why not just post the Goodreads link? Perhaps one actually needs to set a challenge. I don’t know.

    Here is mine: https://www.goodreads.com/user_challenges/880672

    36 out of a goal of 30. I think they are all nonfiction except for 50 shades of grey.

    Today is day #297 of 365. That implies a book every 8.25 day, which is pretty slow, but given I’ve read something like Bias in Mental Testing (>700 pages technical English), it is understandable. Extrapolating to the end of the year gives an expected 44.24 books. This is not taking about of holiday duties, exams and stuff that comes in December. Perhaps 41 is a more reasonable goal.

    Comment by Emil | October 24, 2013 | Reply

    • “Why not just post the Goodreads link?”

      I’m tempted to ask if you’ve read any of my book posts. My book posts provide a lot more information about the books in question than does the goodreads material. And this post has 58 links to specific posts about books I’ve read. I know some people can’t keep up with my blogging and so miss some of my posts; this post was also meant as a service to them (a service some of them have made use of; I know a few readers have followed some of the links in this post to specific book posts on the list).

      “Perhaps one actually needs to set a challenge.”

      One does, goodreads has no idea how many books I’ve read this year – or at least it’s not telling me. I wasn’t sure if I’d have to start from scratch if I made a challenge. And I haven’t specified the date I finished all the books I’ve read – it would be a lot of work to add that stuff, and I’d have to rely on the information provided by the blog anyway to get those details right.

      Comment by US | October 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

