Econstudentlog

Murder on the Orient Express

And now a passenger lies dead in his berth – stabbed.”

I read the book yesterday.

This is one of the few Christie stories that I remember having watched a film version of in my youth. Because of that I was considering beforehand whether to read it now or to leave it for another decade. I decided to read it, as I became aware while trying to recall the plot that I couldn’t really remember any of it. I’m glad I made that decision – my goodreads review sums it up quite nicely: ‘This book is awesome.’ I gave it 5 stars. Average goodreads rating is 4.08 (based on tens of thousands of ratings) – the average rating of (one specific edition of) The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is 4.10, so the two books seem to the goodreads community to be of comparable quality. I like the latter a little better, but this book is to me up there in broadly the same category. This is very clever stuff. Recommended.

October 18, 2013 - Posted by | books

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

