Econstudentlog

A Dance With Dragons (ii) (no spoilers)

I finished the book today. It’s taken a bit of time to finish it because I put it away for a while after reading half of it. I should point out that I did so not because I disliked the book; rather the problem was the opposite, it was great but it was taking up time I figured I ought to be spending in a different manner.

I liked it much better than the 4th book, and I gave it five stars on goodreads. This is good stuff. I’m looking forward to the 6th book in the series, but I may have to wait a while for that one. Don’t let the page-count scare you away from reading these books – I should remind you that I read all of the books in this series this summer (on top of a lot of other stuff), and I’d hardly call myself a particularly fast reader.

I haven’t quoted much from the book, but I figured I should add at least a few quotes. The four quotes below will give you a little information about how the book is written, but they will tell you next to nothing else – at least nothing which could conceivably spoil the reading (-watching?) experience. All names have been removed and I do belive I’ve been very careful to avoid giving anything at all away here:

“”So many years, so many wars, so many kings … you’d think someone would have made a peace.”
“Someone did, my lord. Many someones. We’ve had a hundred peaces with the [others], many sealed with marriages. […] But then some fresh quarrel broke out, and the old wounds opened and began to bleed again. That’s how it always happens, my father says. So long as men remember the wrongs done to their forebears, no peace will ever last. So we go on century after century, with us hating the [others] and them hating us. My father says there will never be an end to it.”
“There could be.”
“How, my lord? The old wounds never heal” […]
“Never wound a foe when you can kill him. Dead men don’t claim vengeance.”
“Their sons do,” […]
“Not if you kill the sons as well.””

“”You cannot trust in sellswords.”
“They are men like any other men. They want gold, glory, power. That’s all I am trusting in.””

“The most insidious thing about bondage was how easy it was to grow accustomed to it. The life of most slaves was not all that different from the life of a serving man [in Westeros], it seemed […] Slaves were chattels, aye. They could be bought and sold, whipped and branded, used for the carnal pleasure of their owners, bred to make more slaves. In that sense they were no more than dogs or horses. But most lords treated their dogs and horses well enough. Proud men might shout that they would sooner die free than live as slaves, but pride was cheap. When the steel struck the flint, such men were rare as dragon’s teeth; elsewise the world would not have been so full of slaves. There has never been a slave who did not choose to be a slave. […] Their choice may be between bondage and death, but the choice is always there.

“”You cannot marry her. She has a husband.”
“She does not love [her husband].”
“What has love to do with marriage? [You] should know better.”

August 23, 2013 - Posted by | books

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

