Econstudentlog

Calculated Risks: Understanding the Toxicity of Chemicals in our Environment (ii)

I finished the book – I didn’t expect to do that quite so soon, which is why I ended up posting two posts about the book during the same day. As Miao pointed out in her comment a newer version of the book exists, so if my posts have made you curious you should probably give that one a shot instead; this is a good book, but sometimes you can tell it wasn’t exactly written yesterday.

This book may tell you a lot of stuff you already know, especially if you have a little knowledge about biological systems, the human body, or perhaps basic statistics. I considered big parts of some chapters to be review stuff I already knew; I’d have preferred a slightly more detailed and in-depth treatment of the material. I didn’t need to be reminded how the kidneys work or that there’s such a thing as a blood-brain barrier, the stats stuff was of course old hat to me, I’m familiar with the linear no-threshold model, and there’s a lot of stuff about carcinogens in Mukherjee not covered in this book…

So it may tell you a lot of stuff you already know. But it will also tell you a lot of new stuff. I learned quite a bit and I liked reading the book, even the parts I probably didn’t really ‘need’ to read. I gave it 3 stars on account of the ‘written two decades ago’-thing and the ‘I don’t think I’m part of the core target group’-thing – but if current me had read it in the year 2000 I’d probably have given it four stars.

I don’t really know if the newer edition of the book is better than the one I read, and it’s dangerous to make assumptions about these things, but if he hasn’t updated it at all it’s still a good book, and if he has updated the material the new version is in all likelihood even better than the one I read. If you’re interested in this stuff, I don’t think this is a bad place to start.

I found out while writing the first post about the book that quoting from the book is quite bothersome. I’m lazy, so I decided to limit coverage here to some links which I’ve posted below – the stuff I link to is either covered or related to stuff that is covered in the book. It was a lot easier for me to post these links than to quote from the book in part because I visited many of these articles along the way while reading the book:

Aflatoxin.
No-observed-adverse-effect level.
Teratology.
Paraquat.
DDT.
Methemoglobinemia.
Erethism.
DBCP.
Diethylstilbestrol.
Polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon.
Percivall Pott.
Bioassay.
Electrophile.
Clastogen.
Mutagen.
Dose–response relationship.
Acceptable daily intake.
Linear Low dose Extrapolation for Cancer Risk Assessments: Sources of Uncertainty and How They Affect the Precision of Risk Estimates (short paper)
Delaney clause.
OSHA.

Do note that these links taken together can be somewhat misleading – as you could hopefully tell from the quotes in the first post, the book is quite systematic and the main focus is on basic/key concepts. To the extent that specific poisons like paraquat and DDT are mentioned in the book they’re used to ‘zoom in’ on a certain aspect in order to illustrate a specific feature, or perhaps in order to point out an important distinction – stuff like that.

July 30, 2013 - Posted by | biology, books, health, medicine

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

