Econstudentlog

Minor change regarding comment policy

Akismet is letting a lot of crap through the filter and I get angry when I see people post spam on my blog. So I’ve decided to change my comment policy – from now on, the first comment people make is withheld until I’ve approved it – and so after you’ve gotten one comment approved by me your future comments will appear immediately after you’ve posted them.

I do not know if people who’ve posted in the past (basically almost everybody who might decide to comment here on the blog have done this…) are also required to have a comment approved by me or not – I hope not, but in that case it’ll still be only the first comment.

I’d have preferred not to have had to make this change, but I can’t accept the fact that I have to delete spam comments manually on a daily basis – that’s completely unacceptable. And it is a rather minor change.

If you want to test whether the first-time approval is required for you even though you’ve posted comments here before, and/or you just want to get that first-time approval over with now, you can leave a semi-random comment below (you can make it a general feedback comment if you like…) and check if it appears immediately – I’ll be very lax about approving comments to this post from people who’ve posted here before, though the main rule still applies (‘don’t be a jerk..’). New readers are encouraged to introduce themselves here if they feel like it (I know some people reading along prefer to remain anonymous/hidden/invisible/whatever). If you have questions about comment policy this is probably the place to ask them – but before people start asking such questions I’ll point out that if you try to add value to the discussion and argue in good faith you have nothing to fear. In over half a decade I’ve only ever banned one [1] individual.

All that said, this is my blog – it’s my place. I post a lot of different stuff, and some of that stuff’s personal. This is not a sphere where you can just say whatever you like, though you’re very much encouraged to say and share interesting stuff as people sometimes (though much too rarely) do.

In completely unrelated news I’ve recently engaged in a discussion on gene-expression where I left a few comments here – I do not often post stuff elsewhere so I figured if people were interested and hadn’t seen this I might as well leave a link.

May 15, 2013 - Posted by | blogging

4 Comments »

  1. Well, this is a test.

    Comment by Miao | May 16, 2013 | Reply

    • Great — it is automatically approved.

      Comment by Miao | May 16, 2013 | Reply

      • That’s good news. So people who’ve already commented can expect the policy change to have had no effect on them at all.

        Comment by US | May 16, 2013

  2. Also testing.

    I didn’t know debate escalated on that post. Now I will see the debate.🙂

    Comment by Emil | May 19, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

