Econstudentlog

Completely Unexpected Tales…

Tales of the Unexpected and More Tales of the Unexpected, by Roald Dahl. It‘s a pretty damn good book; I gave it 4 stars (‘really liked it’) on goodreads (the average rating there is 4.16), but I seriously considered giving it 5 stars (‘it was amazing’). The reason why I didn’t was that it’s a collection of short stories, and whereas some of the stories on their own surely deserve 5 stars, I’m not sure the book as a whole does – not all stories are awesome, some are just ‘fine’.

Before I started out reading it yesterday I was under the impression that I hadn’t read Dahl before, but as I was reading the book I started feeling more and more certain I’d read some of the stories before – I’d imagine something like 15 years ago. I couldn’t remember the stories, so even though I’m reasonably sure I’ve read some of them before it felt like I was reading them for the first time.

It’s hard to illustrate how great this book is via quotes; most of them are great because of where you unexpectedly end up and because of how he manages to build up the tension during the stories, which are aspects you can’t really capture in quotes without giving too much away. But I’ll note that I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

April 29, 2013 - Posted by | books

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

