Econstudentlog

All’s Well That Ends Well

From this book. No, not exactly that one – but the image of the book in question looks very much like it. Let’s just say that my version is not in German (..who reads a translation of a work like this, that seems to me to defeat the whole purpose of reading it?), and according to this link it was printed some years earlier, in 1958 – but the image looks identical. I think that when you read a play written more than 400 years ago, it somehow adds to the experience to read an older print version – I don’t know, maybe I’m just weird. I remember having a not too dissimilar feeling back when I read Tolstoy’s collected works in a 1928-edition some years ago.

According to wikipedia it’s one of Shakespeare’s ‘lesser-known plays’, and in Hodek’s introduction he calls it a ‘very difficult – though rewarding – play’. I was surprised how long it took me to read it; in the version I have it is but 26 pages long, but I think it took me more than two hours to read it (3? I don’t know, I wasn’t paying attention to the time). A few quotes from the play:

i. “Moderate lamentation is the right of the dead; excessive grief the enemy of the living.”

ii. “Love all, trust a few,
Do wrong to none: be able thine enemy
Rather in power than use; and keep thy friend
Under thy own life’s key: be check’d for silence,
But never tax’d for speech.”

iii. “There’s little can be said in’t; ’tis
against the rule of nature. To speak on the
part of virginity is to accuse your mothers;
which is most infallible disobedience. He that
hangs himself is a virgin: virginity murders
itself; and should be buried in highways, out
of all sanctified limit, as a desperate offendress
against nature. Virginity breeds mites, much
like a cheese; consumes itself to the very par-
ing, and so dies with feeding his own stomach.
Besides, virginity is peevish, proud, idle, made
of self-love; which is the most inhibited sin in
the canon. Keep it not; you cannot choose
but lose by’t: out with’t!”

iv. “her father bequeathed
her to me; and she herself, without other ad-
vantage, may lawfully make title to as much
love as she finds: there is more owing her than
is paid; and more shall be paid her than she’ll
demand.”

v. “war is no strife
To the dark house and the detested wife.”

vi. “you have answered to his re-
putation with the duke, and to his valour: what
is his honesty?
Par. He will steal, sir, an egg out of a
cloister; for rapes and ravishments he parallels
Nessus. He professes not keeping of oaths;
in breaking them he is stronger than Hercules.
He will lie, sir, with such volubility that you
would think truth were a fool: drunkenness is
his best virtue, for he will be swine-drunk; and
in his sleep he does little harm, save to his bed-
clothes about him; but they know his conditions
and lay him in straw.”

vii. “All’s well that ends well: still the fine’s the
crown:
Whate’er the course, the end is the renown.”

July 4, 2012 - Posted by | books

5 Comments »

  1. Bare et spørgsmål så jeg får ro i sindet: du bruger ikke pen til at gemme citaterne i sådan en bog, vel?

    Comment by info2 | July 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Mit svar vil ikke give dig ro i sindet…

      Hvad vil du betale mig for at undlade at gøre det?😉

      Jeg skrev intet i 1928-bogen, og det var en bevidst beslutning fra min side – og i øvrigt aldeles ekstraordinært, jeg tegner altid i mine bøger. Men jeg brugte markør da jeg læste AWTEW. Da jeg læste den vidste jeg dog ikke, at den var printet i 1958 – der står intet årstal i bogen, og det var først efter gennemlæsning af historien at jeg blev nysgerrig.

      Jeg har en ulæst Anna Karenina stående på hylden i en udgave fra 1945. Den vil jeg ikke strege i når den tid kommer (overvejer at læse den her til sommer). Hvis du føler meget stærkt for, at jeg ikke streger i Shakespeare, vil jeg overveje at undlade det; men jeg vil intet love. Jeg ved, at det vil øge bogens subjektive værdi for mig betragteligt fremadrettet, hvis jeg streger i den.

      Comment by US | July 4, 2012 | Reply

      • Nu har du jo tegnet i den, så det er lidt sent at købe den fri… Jeg er ikke stand-fetishist, man må gerne kunne se, at bøger bliver brugt – men jeg sætter kun post its i mine, så spor efter mig kan fjernes og jeg kan give bogen videre en dag.

        For nylig læste jeg dog en bog som research til en længere tekst på min tablet, hvor jeg omkostningsfrit kunne bruge overstregninger, og jeg må jo indrømme, at det er effektivt efterfølgende.

        Comment by info2 | July 4, 2012

      • (Jeg har malet på måske 20 sider eller så, ud af vel over 1000. Der er mange uskadte sider tilbage… Uret tikker…🙂 )

        “så spor efter mig kan fjernes og jeg kan give bogen videre en dag.”

        Jeg har intet ønske om at ‘spor efter mig kan fjernes’ (tværtimod?), og jeg har aldrig, så vidt jeg husker, givet en bog væk – jeg låner ofte bøger ud, efter jeg har læst dem og malet i dem, men jeg forventer at få dem tilbage igen. At sælge ud af mine bøger er en voldsomt ubehagelig tanke.

        Comment by US | July 4, 2012

      • Det med at give det videre er vist også mere en romantisk forestilling end noget, der bliver til virkelighed. Sandheden er jo, at jeg ikke rigtigt kender nogen, som mit bibliotek interesserer det fjerneste, udover et par enkelte knap så nicheprægede ting som det øvrige. Peter Øvig og Tom Buk Swienty kan godt lånes ud en gang imellem, mens Warriors of Medieval Japan kunne jeg næppe komme af med, om jeg så kastede den i nakken på folk🙂

        Og min illusion om, at jeg ikke er en samler, men en forbruger af viden, der gerne skulle passere videre, er nok omfattende end som så. Jeg overvejer jo gang på gang at sælge ud af mine gamle tegneserier, som jeg slet ikke har plads til. Men bliver det nogensinde til noget? Næ …

        (Og det er for sent – let mishandling er stadig mishanding.)

        Comment by info2 | July 5, 2012


Leave a Reply

