Econstudentlog

Some music

It’s as if the more time I spend looking for/listening to stuff like this, the more puzzled I get and the more I want to ask the question: ‘Why didn’t anybody ever tell me about this guy (/girl)?’ Classical music is so, so, so much more than Beethoven, Chopin and Mozart (three composers I think most people know about).

Leo Ornstein‘s 4th Piano Sonata, 2. movement:

Here’s Emil Gilels playing the first movement of Saint-Saens Piano Concerto No. 2:

Perlemuter playing Fauré’s Op. 33, No.1:

Fauré’s Op. 37:

I have no idea if this one is ‘the real deal’; it might be and if so it’s beyond awesome. She died 115 years ago:

I have a deep admiration for Hamelin, he’s in my opinion one of the best guys out there and he’s not afraid to go outside the mainstream and play composers and pieces few others of his caliber have given the attention they deserve. This is one of those pieces, not ‘traditional classical music’ in any way:

February 1, 2011 - Posted by | music

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

