Econstudentlog

The latest project

In case you were wondering, this piece is much, much harder than it sounds. Every time you hear one note clearly (the ‘melody’), 6 notes are played both with the right and left hand, and most of the time the broken chords in the left hand stretches well beyond an octave, some places two and a half octaves (needless to say, the broken chords are still supposed to be played molto legato). I’ve probably already spent as much time on this piece as I spent on this piece altogether, and I can still only play roughly the first ~40 seconds at something close to the tempo it’s supposed to be – and of course still with much less clarity and stability than Rubinstein.

January 4, 2009 Posted by | Chopin, music | Leave a comment

What I’ve been reading

Not a lot of blogging at the moment, but that doesn’t mean I’m just sitting around doing nothing. A couple of books I’ve taken a closer look at:

i) 1001 movies you must see before you die. I got the translated Danish version which is called ’1001 film du skal se før du dør’ for Christmas, and I liked it so much that I finished the whole book (~ 950 pages) before New Years Eve.

ii) The Good Terrorist, by Doris Lessing. I liked this book very much. I read it before Christmas, and I still don’t know quite what to think of it. It’s a book that makes you think. I like those books…

iii) Another book that makes you think is Kritik af den negative opbyggelighed, by Stjernfelt and Thomsen. I got this one for Christmas as well, and so far I’ve read the first two essays – there are seven altogether, so there’s still a long way to go. I liked the first one, the second I’m still digesting.

iv) Orientalism, by Said – a third Christmas present. On the excerpt from my wish list which I posted on this blog some time ago, I included Ibn Warraq’s criticism of this book, Defending the West…, as a gift idea for the readers of this blog. Of course Said was also on my wish list. I only just started reading it yesterday, so I haven’t got a lot to say about it yet.

January 4, 2009 Posted by | books | 4 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers