Econstudentlog

What I’ve been reading…

1) The Danish translation of Traudl Junges “Bis zur letzten Stunde” (the Danish version is published by Lindhardt og Ringhof and is called “Til den bitre ende”). Most of the book consists of Traudl’s collection of notes and memoirs written only two years after the war, in 47. The last 40 pages consists of notes from interviews between Traudl and the German journalist Melissa Müller that took place very close to Junge’s death. The book is very personal and it is also very recommendable.

2) Anna Politkovskaya: Putin’s Russia. I like Putin even less than before after having read this book.

3) I have tried once again to make progress in “The Road to Reality” by Roger Penrose, by reading chapters 6 and 7. This book is not recommended to people who do not like mathematics, and I don’t think you can rightfully consider it popular science – it is not at all comparable to books such as “Relativity” by Albert Einstein (which, incidentally I found was available online here. Amazon also has the book though and it isn’t all that expensive) and “A brief(/er) history of time” by Stephen Hawking. Even though I believe I understood most of the two chapters, they took an awful lot of time to get through, so I think I shall have to put it away again for a while before I continue. I might start reading a recent buy; “The Nuremberg Interviews” instead.

A short addendum to the Danish readers: No, I’m not lying about which books I’ve read

January 27, 2007 - Posted by | books, history, Physics

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

