Econstudentlog

Open Thread

i. Some questions:

“Look for reasons for living and internal strengths for managing risk:
* ‘What’s important to you in your life?’
* ‘What do you feel connected to? Faith? Family? Community?’
* ‘What keeps you going?’
* ‘Do you have a sense of purpose or meaning?’
* ‘How do you manage stress?’
* ‘What do you do to take care of yourself?’
* ‘What has kept you from killing yourself?’
* ‘What do you do that helps you deal with thoughts of suicide?’
* ‘How do you manage to stay safe?’
* ‘What would keep you from killing yourself now?’”

(From Chehil’s book)

ii. Detecting Consciousness in the Vegetative. An interesting post.

iii.

Menu

From this collection of hilarious Chinese translation fails (via Razib Khan – re. RK, see also this). Curious though I’d be about how the fries would deliver the baby, I don’t really need an emergency C-section at this point. And I’m not quite willing to let go of what’s left of my inner child yet. So I’d probably go for the fried cat ear.

iv. When I grow up, I want to be a cartoonist. In other words, a mathematician. On a related matter, comics like this (and this – don’t miss the votey at the red button!) almost make me sad I won’t have children. I should perhaps point out that SMBC in general is a pure goldmine when it comes to such comics – see for instance also this, this, this, this, this, this, this and this. The best I can hope for is probably something like this.

What’s going on in your life? What have you learned recently? Links of interest? How would you answer Chehil’s questions?

November 25, 2013 - Posted by | comics, Open Thread, random stuff

5 Comments »

  1. I finished “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd” and it was – of course* – very enjoyable. So thanks for the recommendation.
    * http://www.thecwa.co.uk/

    Since you read a lot of Pratchett: which one book of his do you like the most?

    Comment by Stefan | November 27, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m so glad you liked it, thanks for letting me know. And thanks for following my recommendation.

      As for the other matter – another really hard question.. My answer to this one is complicated by the fact that I gave a good friend of mine a Pratchett novel a while back as a present, and I’m not really sure my friend liked the book or finished it. Since then I’ve felt quite bad about perhaps having picked the wrong book and caused my friend to never discover how wonderful Pratchett’s world is. I will have to think about this some more before I answer. (I’m assuming what you’re implicitly asking is which book you should read. If it’s just a question of which one of the books I like the best, it’s a bit easier – though still very hard.)

      Comment by US | November 27, 2013 | Reply

      • I already know that many people recommend “Mort” and “Small gods”, so please feel free to answer which book you’ve enjoyed most without the added pressure of metarecommending the authorship!

        Comment by Stefan | November 27, 2013

      • There are quite a few awesome books and I wouldn’t want to pick out one. It’s hard for me to recall how I felt while reading a specific book and how I felt shortly after, and comparing such emotions is impossible. I found Small Gods awesome (this was incidentally the book I gave to my friend). Guards! Guards! was awesome. Jingo was a wonderful read, as was Interesting Times. Mort and Reaper Man as well. Going Postal and Making Money both have a special place in my heart as these were the first two Pratchett books I read (there wasn’t much of a timegap between them, but it took a while for me to get to the third book), but I’m not sure I’d categorize either as one of his very best novels – however they were good enough to get me hooked, which was the important part.

        Comment by US | November 28, 2013

      • Thanks, I’ll try Small Gods then.

        Comment by Stefan | November 28, 2013


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

