Econstudentlog

Stroking people’s egos – it works!

Three spam comments from yesterday’s selection (links removed):

1. I do not think I have seen this described in such an informative way before. You actually have made this so much clearer for me. Thanks!

2. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. :)

3. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for more info on this just sa few days ago.

Of course there are multiple strategies for how to construct the optimal spam comment. This spammer (it’s the same program doing the ‘commenting’ in all three cases) obviously consider it (more) likely that bloggers will approve comments like these, increasing the odds of someone clicking the links, because people will often give someone who compliment them the benefit of the doubt. I’ll consider the fact that I’ve seen spam comments such as these a lot of times before a sign that they work. People like to be told nice things about themselves. It doesn’t really matter all that much who – or for that matter what – the messenger is.

April 9, 2010 - Posted by | bias, blogging, random stuff

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

